One camera, one month, one film

I recently took part in a challenge over at the excellent www.filmwasters.com site, to use one camera exclusively for one month, November 2014. Now I have to admit that this wasn’t too much different to my normal way of working because I’d  just come out of October and my trip to Skye when I used only the Mamiya RZ67; although I have a few cameras I’ve been thinning them out to concentrate on a smaller range so it seemed like a natural thing to participate in.

Although the challenge didn’t require a single choice of film, I decided to add in to the constraints just using Kodak Ektar; I’ve used a lot of Kodak Portra over the last year and just wanted to explore Ektar a bit more.

So here’s the results, drawn from three 120 films, spread over five locations. All images were home-developed with a Jobo CPE2 processor and the Digibase C41 kit.

Wallington, Northumberland

I thought Ektar did a good job with the boathouse image below; it was very dark inside and I thought I would an exposure blend to handle the dynamic range, so I took three exposures. As it happened the middle exposure was enough, with selective lightening and darkening in Adobe Lightroom.

Wallington Boathouse

 

A foggy morning in Earsdon, North Tyneside

2014-11 Earsdon churchyard, RZ67, Ektar, Digibase,  001
Ektar converted to mono in Adobe Lightroom

 

 

Actually, this one is TMax 100 - a slight deviation
Actually, this one is TMax 100 – a slight deviation

 

Rothbury, Northumberland

 

Arcot Lake

2014-11-22, Arcot Lake, RZ67, Ektar, Digibase,  002

Freshwater Mussel
Freshwater Mussel

2014-11 Arcot Lake, RZ67, Ektar, Digibase,  004

Marina

2014-11-30, Rothbury, RZ67, Ektar, Digibase,  006 2014-11-30, Rothbury, RZ67, Ektar, Digibase,  007

 

 

One comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.