Holy Island with Agfa Precisa CT100

My most recent trip to Holy Island, also known as Lindisfarne, which lies off the Northumberland coast, was intended to be primarily an opportunity to practice using the Intrepid 4×5 camera. But the tripod screw broke in the camera before I had a chance to take any large format images (fortunately now kindly repaired free of charge by Intrepid).

The only other camera I had with me was an Olympus 35RC loaded with Agfa Precisa CT100 slide film, aka Fuji Provia 100. I had chosen to arrive on the island just before high tide, as I’d never before stayed on the island during the high tide period, when you can’t get over the tidal causeway. That meant I had a few hours spare before I could return to the mainland so I was pleased to at least have the Olympus with me.

Normally on Holy Island I would take some pictures of this castle:

Lindisfarne Castle, shot on a previous visit with a Mamiya RZ67 and Fuji Reala negative film

However, this time the castle was covered with scaffolding and it’s closed for renovation until 2018. Since the scaffolding’s not very attractive, and the castle appears in the view from most points around the nearby bay, I had to be quite selective in my views. Indeed although it was unusual to have the high tide visible, viewing the sea meant viewing the castle, and I only took one image with the sea visible:

Shades of blue

I suspect this will be my last post featuring Agfa Precisa CT100 film. Although it has it’s charms, and it’s cheaper than the Fuji-branded original, I’m not keen on two aspects:

a) The limited dynamic range (true for all slide film)
b) It’s only available in 35mm (although Fuji Provia is available in medium and large format.

I often find myself struggling to get a level of technical image quality that I like from 35mm in colour, so I think I’m probably going to run down my stocks of colour film in 35mm, and concentrate on Kodak Portra 400 in medium format (and maybe large format if I feel liking spending £6 per sheet).

I still have some black and white film in 35mm but that might still get used as I can still get a decent small darkroom print from 35mm.

 

3 comments

  1. Hi Kevin you must have been gutted with the tripod incident. I never leave the house without a tripod these days . Unfortunately as I like to use different cameras my issue is leaving the tripod quick release bolted to a camera left behind….. i also have shared your issue with 35mm against larger formats ( the first blog of yours I ever read was ‘ farewell to 35mm ? ‘). I too have often felt disappointed with a shot which would been superior shot on a larger format. But have also enjoyed capturing shots on 35mm that I would have never have caught on a larger format. A nice collection above from holy island so all was not lost.

    • Hi Andy, yes I’ve made the mistake of taking the wrong or no tripod plate before as well. With regard to 35mm, I had been thinking of selling off my stock of Agfa Vista 200, but after looking at your Wharfedale bridge panaroma photo today, I thought of using it for some panoramas, both “straight” and “joiners” – so thanks for the inspiration.

      • Hi Kevin I have tried a 4×4 16shot 35mm pan but of course tripod mounted I was moving the camera in small arc’s about a given point. which screwed up perspective of subject . Handheld and a step left or right may work for a big pan . 4x5pan with a 150mm lens works well for 4×10.

Leave a Reply

