Recently in the darkroom: rivers and ruins

I’ve been spending a bit more time than usual in the darkroom recently so I thought I’d share some recent work. My darkroom output was spurred on when Santa gave me an RH Designs Analyser Pro, which helps you find the appropriate exposure and contrast settings and recalculates those settings if you decide to change paper types.

I’ll probably write some more about the Analyser Pro in my next post. These images were from a walk in December 2015 around Baybridge, a hamlet a few miles from Blanchland on the Northumberland/Durham border.

I started shooting with a Yashicamat 124G loaded with expired Ilford FP4+; when that film was finished I changed to a Fujifilm GA645Zi loaded with Kodak TMax 100 rated at ISO200.

All the prints were made on Ilford MGIV RC Warmtone paper.

2016-12-19, Yashicamat, Baybridge, FP4+, MGIVRC, 010

Ilford FP4+ film in a Yashicamat 124G – scan of a darkroom print on Ilford MG IV RC Warmtone paper

The print above was made on 9.5″ * 12″ paper with an 8″ square picture area – it annoys me that square prints always result in some wasted paper. You can’t see the borders because my scanner can’t scan the whole paper so I had to miss the borders off.

The following images below are 5″ * 7″ – I intend to try to print from each roll of film, one image at a larger size and a few smaller supporting images.

2015-12-19, Yashicamat, Baybridge, FP4+, MGIVRC, 003


Ilford FP4+ film in a Yashicamat 124G – scan of a darkroom print on Ilford MG IV RC Warmtone paper

 

2015-12-19, Yashicamat, Baybridge, FP4+, MGIVRC, 001

Ilford FP4+ film in a Yashicamat 124G – scan of a darkroom print made on Ilford MGIV Warmtone paper

After exploring the local woods and streams I came across a ruined farmhouse called Gibraltar.

2015-12-19, Yashicamat, Gibraltar, FP4+, MGIVRC, 005

View through the window of Gibraltar farmhouse – film and print details as above

2015-12-19, GA645Zi, Gibraltar, FP4+, MGIVRC, 006

Bedroom of Gibraltar farmhouse – Fuji GA645Zi camera; Kodak TMax 100 film, rated at ISO200; scan of a darkroom print on Ilford MGIV Warmtone paper

2015-12-19, GA645Zi, Gibraltar, FP4+, MGIVRC, 009

2015-12-19, GA645Zi, Gibraltar, FP4+, MGIVRC, 011

View from the bedroom window – camera, film, and print details as for the previous image

2015-12-19, Yashicamat, Gibraltar, FP4+, MGIVRC, 004

Yashicamat 124G; Ilford FP4+; printed on Ilford MGIV RC Warmtone

With the second film – the TMax in a Fujifilm GA645Zi – I skipped my usual stage of scanning the negatives and went straight to darkroom output, beginning with a contact print of the whole roll. I think in the past, having the negative scans has tended to act as a disincentive to going into the darkroom – forcing myself to get the output only in the darkroom may help me to practice my darkroom skills.

Unfortunately, of course, I then have to scan the prints to have something to put on the the blog, and the original prints look much better than the scans – but you’ll just have to take me word for it !

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

