Another trip to Bothal

I’ve blogged about the Northumbrian village of Bothal before and I couldn’t resist another visit this Autumn so I thought I’d share a few images. I took the Mamiya RZ67 and finished off a roll of Portra 400 that was half-used, shot a roll of Fuji Velvia 50, then loaded a roll of Ektar which is still in the camera.

Here are a few Velvia images, concentrating on the lovely acer tree which grows around the war memorial, outside a church, and is usually at it’s best around Remembrance Day. It was a very wet day but that only made the leaves glow with even more colour.

2015-11-7, RZ67, Bothal, Velvia 50,  chems, 002-Edit 2015-11-7, RZ67, Bothal, Velvia 50,  chems, 001 2015-11-7, RZ67, Bothal, Velvia 50,  chems, 003 2015-11-7, RZ67, Bothal, Velvia 50,  chems, 004 2015-11-7, RZ67, Bothal, Velvia 50,  chems, 010

I don’t shoot much slide film nowadays as I prefer the wider dynamic range of negative film, and also because I have to pay for it to be processed commercially. Although I have processed slide film at home, that requires maintaining a different set of chemicals alongside those I need for colour negatives, and the chemicals would go off before I get the chance to use them up.

However there’s no doubt that Velvia and Provia both look great in the right circumstances. I have two or three rolls left in the freezer which will get used sometime.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Another trip to Bothal

  1. Jim Grey November 27, 2015 at 5:06 am Reply

    Just super lovely shots. The reds are brilliant.

Leave a Reply

