Glen Affric trip – Day 2

Day 2 of my Glen Affric holiday saw me pack just the Yashicamat 124G, whereas the previous day I had mostly used the Mamiya RZ67. This was partly because I was planning to walk a few miles – although that’s not impossible with the RZ67; some people describe it as a studio-only outfit but I have walked 7-8 miles with it – but mainly because I planned to take some infrared photos using Rollei IR400 film.

Of course it is entirely possible to fit an R72 infrared filter to the Mamiya. However, all the Mamiya lenses use a 77mm filter and a Hoya R72 filter in that size costs around £100; whereas I have an R72 filter with a 52mm thread, which cost just £30.

Apart from cost, the advantage of using the R72 filter – which is totally opaque – with a twin lens reflex is that you can still compose with the filter fitted, since you view through the upper lens whilst the filter is fitted on the lower lens. As long as you don’t forget you have the filter fitted ….

In order to use a 52mm filter with the Yashicamat, I fit a Bay 1 -> 46mm adaptor, followed by a 46mm- 52mm adaptor, then finally the filter.

I followed the “Dog Falls walk” – see here for a map courtesy of the excellent WalkHighlands website.

Before I could begin the infrared images, I had some Fuji Provia 400X slide film in the Yashicamat which I used around the river.

2011-11, Glen Affric, Yashicamat, Provia 400X, 23_

Yashicamat 124G and Fuji Provia 400X

2011-11-12, Yashicamat, Provia 400X, Glen Affric, 7

Yashicamat 124G and Fuji Provia 400X

2011-11-12, Yashicamat, Provia 400X, Glen Affric, 5

Yashicamat 124G and Fuji Provia 400X
The dynamic range here was very challenging with slide film; some adjustments were made in Lightroom, but had I been using the Mamiya a film back with Portra would have been loaded instead of Provia

Once I got into the area wooded with Scots Pine, I stopped for coffee (from a flask – no cafe or pub for twenty miles) and loaded the IR400 film.

2011-11-12, Glen Affric, Yashicamat, IR400, 3_

Coire Loch with Rollei IR400 film and a Hoya R72 filter in a Yashicamat 124G, developed in Rodinal

Coire Loch

Coire Loch with Rollei IR400 film and a Hoya R72 filter in a Yashicamat 124G, developed in Rodinal

2011-11-12, Glen Affric, Yashicamat, IR400, 8_

Scots pine tree with Rollei IR400 film and a Hoya R72 filter in a Yashicamat 124G, developed in Rodinal.

I metered these images, if I remember correctly, at about EI 12 – in other words allowing five stops compensation for the filter.

One of the things I like about Rollei IR400 film is that it gives pretty good results when used without an R72 filter, as a standard black and white film – see here for example. So, you don’t need to commit to shooting a whole roll as infrared.

It wasn’t all plain sailing with this roll of IR400. A few shots were spoiled with this mottked effect, which looks rather like a bicycle was ridden across the negative whilst it was lying on my garage floor … I’m sure that wasn’t really the cause but I’m not sure of the real reason.

2011-11-12, Glen Affric, Yashicamat, IR400, 11_

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Glen Affric trip – Day 2

  1. Mike Green January 5, 2014 at 9:14 pm Reply

    Sounds an interesting trip, and very nice to be so alone in the environment, I’m sure. That last shot is very nice indeed, and I suspect all the better for in the inversion, which gives it an immediately surreal feel which remains after I’d recognised what you’d done.

    Mike

  2. Mike Green January 5, 2014 at 9:15 pm Reply

    p.s. ‘last shot on first post’ 😉

Leave a Reply

